Gouache: Turner Acryl Gouache (review)

Back during the glorious couple of years when the Australian dollar was strong against the American dollar, I used to buy art supplies from US stores every now and then, as even with shipping, it often worked out cheaper than if I bought the same items here (if they were available here at all). One of my orders came with a sample triad of Turner Acryl Gouache.

Turner Gouache Tubes
I found these again the other day while digging through my cupboard, and though I’ve never really done much with gouache, I thought I’d see what they were like.

Turner Gouache Colour Chart Wheel
Gouache is almost like a cross between watercolour and acrylic, with the thinness and rewettability of the former and the opacity of the latter. It also has more of a matte finish than acrylics, which usually have at least some gloss. The Turner gouache shares these attributes, and the three colours I was given are vivid and well balanced, allowing for most colours I need to be mixed (a white would have been useful but they were free so I can’t complain haha). They can be thinned down to a pale, watercolour-esque wash with a lot of water, while using just a little water will give you a nice, mostly opaque inky wash. Different brands of gouache vary in how well they can be rewetted or reactivated. The Turner gouache can be reactivated if it was a thin wash allowed to dry in the palette, but I found that if I had thicker blobs that had been allowed to dry, I was better off scraping it off my palette and putting out some fresh paint.

I painted a few flowers to give these paints a test drive. Though at this stage I’m relatively new to gouache, I don’t have any complaints about the Turner Acryl Gouache, so if you’re looking to buy some gouache, this Japanese brand is worth looking into.

Turner Gouache Painting Flowers

This entry was posted in Gouache, Materials, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

